Ahimsa…..do no harm

On this, my journey to zen I am learning so many things.   I am excited to open my eyes each morning in anticipation of what light bulb moment will present itself to me today.  I wake up grateful and the frenzied state that I use to call my mornings has suddenly taken a prolonged vacation.  Yoga is such a beautiful practice and I am becoming this spiritually connected being.   We are all connected even if the thought of that sometimes gives me pause. Today I will share my observation of what Yoga has meant for me thus far and then I will share a recent event and how Yoga has changed the way I look at things in my life.  I believe the change in my thinking started to occur after reading the  Yoga Sutras which if I give a brief description of, I would say that the Sutras, unlike scriptural teachings do not chastise behaviors or define them as good or bad but rather tell us that if we  choose a certain behavior then we can expect a certain result.  It can be difficult to unlearn a lifetime worth of beliefs that have been pounded into the very core of who we are.  For instance let’s take a look at the Sanskrit word Ahimsa.  In short it basically means to “do no harm”.  Not just physical harm but mentally and verbally as well. It means that we need to see our interconnectedness.  Ok so now I will share the event that raised my awareness today that I was indeed starting to look at life differently.

Today an employee of mine called to inform me that an ex-employee of mine was trying to sabotage a relationship that I have had with a certain company for over 11 years.  This ex-employee of mine was a great worker and represented my company well.  So much so that she was offered a job by the very company that I had contracted with for years and suddenly and without warning her loyalties shifted and all the things I had done for her seemingly meant nothing.  I was told that she was actively trying to keep my company from returning to provide the service that I have provided them for more than a decade.  In the past I would have allowed my anger to get the best of me. I would have reached out to someone to try and change or control the situation.  Instead of anger I felt a kind of sadness creep up.  I felt bad, not so much for my possible loss of opportunity but more so for her.   What had I done to merit such an action from her?  Certainly if I believe that certain behaviors will bring certain results, I had to honestly ask myself  that question.  I may never know why she has chosen to do something so harmful or if in fact it is even true but I do know the way I have chosen to deal with the information feels right.  There is no need to return the harm, there is no need to control the situation.  I want the actions that I take to bring  results that are best for all.  If you find yourself in a situation such as this, stop to reflect a moment on the outcome you want to see and then act accordingly. Yoga has certainly changed the way I look at life and the Sutras have given me my road map to Zen.

Namaste

Yogini Kp

Leave a comment