Take time to just “Be”

In my last blog, titled “The great Misconception”, I shared with you food for thought and invited you to take a look into a practice that gives you one of the most beautiful ways of looking at life. My hope is that you will explore what I share with you here,  find some peace and maybe even “a piece” of yourself you had long put up on the shelf to gather dust. It is true for most of us and certainly it has been for me that we limit time for ourselves and put everything and everyone else first.  We put up fences around our minds.  We tend to over think things, and over analyze instead of allowing ourselves the freedom to just “be”. After years of conditioning to the contrary, this can be harder than it sounds.  Society has taught us that we must perform a certain way in order to live in this world.  It is difficult with all the things that we must do daily, swirling around in our heads at every second to just “be”. With my yoga practice I have learned that there is a place in our lives to take time out to breathe and “be”. What good is all that you are trying to achieve if there is literally no time left in your life for “you”. I am inviting you to come along with me on my “Journey to Zen” and slow down long enough to spend time with the most wonderfully made person you will ever encounter…..YOURSELF.
There are many different types of Yoga and I promise that I will get to all of that later but today I’d like to share with you a very simple way to just “be”. I know the kids are running around and everyone is probably calling your name for something but go ahead, write DO NOT DISTURB on a piece of paper, tape it to your locked door OR maybe just before you go to bed tonight after everyone else is tucked in, allow yourself 15 minutes to just “be”. The pose I’d like to share with you today is a personal favorite because no matter what type of yoga you practice, you will want to end up here. The pose is called Savasana pronounced (shah-VAH-sah-nah). Lie down on your back, Let the feet fall out to either side, bring the arms alongside the body, but slightly separated from the body, and turn the palms to face upwards, relax the whole body, including the face. Close your eyes let the body feel heavy and let the breath occur naturally. Allow yourself to just “breathe and be”.  I usually stay here for 15 minutes or more.  To come out of the pose, first begin to deepen the breath, and then move the fingers and toes, awakening the body. Bring the knees into the chest and roll over to one side, keep the eyes closed, stay here for a minute or two then slowly bring yourself back up into a sitting position. Now see how easy that was. Remember to take time out to reconnect to self and join me next time as I continue on my “Journey to Zen”.  Here is a link for a visual of the pose.    http://www.yogajournal.com/poses/482

Namaste (the divine in me bows to the divine in you)

Yogini Karen

Leave a comment